The Phaeoexplorer project

Exploring the evolution of biological complexity in the brown algae through the establishment of a multi-scale genomic data resource

The Phaeoexplorer project aims to generate transcriptome data and annotated genome assemblies for a broad range of brown algal species at different phylogenetic distances from the model brown alga Ectocarpus in order to address a number of key questions about the biology and evolutionary history of this poorly characterized but important group of marine eukaryotes. The knowledge generated by the project will be exploited to develop new techniques and products for the macroalgal mariculture and processing industries.


The Phaeoexplorer project is funded by the ANR project France Genomique with additional support from the ERC starting grant SexSea , the ANR Future Investment project Idealg , the Genialg project and data contribution from the University of Washington (USA), the Nord University (Norway) and the University of Melbourne (Australia)


You can find out which project funded which sequencing in the following pdf file: Data Origin Phaeoexplorer  

    Phaeoexplorer (France Genomique) project coordinator

    Mark J. Cock (Station Biologique de Roscoff, UMR8227, CNRS)

    Phaeoexplorer (France Genomique) project co-coordinator

    France Denoeud (Genoscope, CEA)

    SexSea (ERC starting grant) project coordinator

    Susana Coelho (Station Biologique de Roscoff, UMR8227, CNRS; Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Department of Algal Development and Evolution)

    Idealg (ANR Future Investment Program) project coordinator

    Philippe Potin (Station Biologique de Roscoff, UMR8227, CNRS)

    ERGA pilot phase, Phaeosaccion genome

    Pedro Oliveira (Genoscope, CEA)

    Strain selection and provision

    Bezhin Rosko
    • Akira Peters

    Culture / Extractions

    Station Biologique de Roscoff, UMR8227, CNRS:
    • Olivier Godfroy
    • Svenja Heesch
    • Chloé Jollivet
    • Laeticia Mest
    • Zofia Nehr
    • Delphine Scornet

    Sequencing assembly and annotation

    Genoscope, CEA:
    • France Denoeud - France Genomique Genoscope project leader
    • Jean-Marc Aury
    • Arnaud Couloux
    • Corinne Cruaud
    • Benjamin Noel
    • Nachida Tadrent

    Station Biologique de Roscoff, UMR8227, CNRS:
    • Olivier Godfroy
    • Agnieszka Lipinska (Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Department of Algal Development and Evolution)
    • Nick Toda

    Database development / Primary analysis

    Station Biologique de Roscoff, ABiMS/FR2424 and UMR8227, CNRS:
    • Erwan Corre
    • Romain Dallet
    • Olivier Godfroy
    • Loraine Guéguen
    • Ehsan Kayal (2019-2020)
    • Arthur Le Bars
    • Xi Liu (2017-2018)
    • Dean Mckeown
    • Delphine Nègre (2018-2019)

    Additional partner institutes and companies in the Phaeoexplorer Consortium

    AFMB, Marseilles, France

    Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI), Bremenhaven

    Arcadia University, USA

    Behzin Rosko, Santec, France

    Centro de Ciências do Mar (CCMAR), Faro, Portugal

    GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research, Kiel, Germany

    Hokkaido University, Japan

    INRAE, Colmar, France

    INRIA, Rennes, France

    Institut de Systématique, Evolution, Biodiversité (ISYEB), UMR7138, Paris

    IRISA, Rennes, France

    Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany

    Marine Biological Assciation, Plymouth, UK

    Minneapolis-St Paul University, USA

    Muroran Marine Station, Hokkaido University, Japan

    Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle (MNHN), Paris, France

    Nord University, Norway

    Olmix, Bréhan, France

    Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, Santiago, Chile

    Rutgers University, USA

    Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS) , Oban, UK

    Sungkyunkwan University, Korea

    Sungkyunkwan University, North Korea

    Université Rennes 1, Rennes, France

    University of Cologne, Germany

    University of Ghent, Belgium

    University of Gothenburg, Sweden

    University of Kobe, Japan

    University of Marburg, Germany

    University of Melbourne, Australia

    University of Montpellier, France

    University of Perpignan, France

    University of Southern Denmark, SDU

    University of Washington, USA

    University of York, UK